About Suruhanjaya Koperasi Malaysia (SKM)

Malaysia Co-operative Societies Commission of Malaysia (SKM) is an entity that was incorporated on January 1, 2008. SKM was formerly known as the Co-operative Development Department of Malaysia (JPK).

At its inception in July 1922, the department called The Office of The Director of Co-operation serves to form, register and develop co-operatives under The Co-operative Societies Enactment 1922 [FMS Cap. 97 of 1935] and was assigned to guide and develop the cooperative movement.

The first headquarters was located in Taiping, Perak. It then moved to Kuala Lumpur in 1924.

The Cooperation Development Department name was then changed to the Department of Co-operative Development (JPK) in the late seventies. Enactment 1922 has been repealed and replaced by the Akta Koperasi 1948 (Revised in 1983).

Akta Koperasi 1993 (Act 502) was subsequently enacted to consolidate the law of co-operatives across Malaysia and came into effect on January 22, 1994.